Continuing Medical Education

Licking Memorial Hospital INDEPENDENT LEARNING ACTIVITY Enduring Materials

"How to Keep Your VAP Rate from Defining You"

Guest speaker

Matthew Exline, M.D.

Pulmonary Disease, Critical Care Medicine

The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center

LEARNING OBJECTIVES

At the conclusion of this session learners will be able to:

- Identify diagnostic criteria for a ventilator-associate pneumonia
- Summarize the treatment options for ventilatorassociate pneumonia
- Discuss the role of "VAPbundles" in preventing ventilator-associate infections

<u>Release</u>: 8/2021 Expiration: 8/2024 Target Audience: Critical Care Physicians, Critical Care Nurses, ED Physicians, Infection Prevention Staff, Infection Disease Director, Hospitalists, Cardiology, Pulmonology, Respiratory

Medium: Recording of live conference

Learner Participation Threshold: To obtain **AMA PRA Category 1** credit, the participant is required to listen/watch the recording in its entirety, complete the pre and post test and evaluation and return this to the CME Coordinator in the Medical Staff office.

<u>Accreditation</u>: Licking Memorial Hospital is accredited by the Ohio State Medical Association to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

<u>Designation</u>: Licking Memorial Hospital designates this enduring activity for a maximum of 1 *AMA PRA Category 1 Credit*TM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Speaker Disclosure:

Matthew Exline, M.D., faculty and planner for this educational event, received support from Abbott, for a talk given at ASPEN 2021. All of the relevant financial relationships listed for this individual has been mitigated.

Planning Committee/Reviewers Disclosure: Craig Cairns, MD, Chair; Bashar Alawad, MD; Emilia Anigbo, MD; Audrey Bennett, MD; Garth Bennington, MD; Joseph Fondriest, MD; Rosita Frazier, MD; Frances Horenstein, MD; Timothy Lifer, DO; Henry Lu, MD; D'Anna Mullins, MD; David Subler, MD; Mary Torchia, MD; Elizabeth Yoder, DO; Sara Rochester, MD; Elizabeth McIntosh, M.D.; Jean Glaser, RPh, PharmD, Director of Pharmacy; Nathan Adamson, Director of Infection Prevention; Brian Thatcher, Director of Process Improvement and Quality; Kim Frick, Process Improvement Specialist; Lorei Reinhard, Director of Laboratory and Oncology Services; Stephen Gombos, Laboratory Manager; Angela Wallace, Director of Surgical Services and Jessica Adamson, CME Coordinator; planners, reviewers, faculty for this educational event, have no relevant financial relationship(s) with ineligible companies to disclose. These committee members are not personally compensated for their role.